SEL Policy



The standards describe the content and skills for students in grades K – 12 for social and emotional learning. Each standard includes five benchmark levels that describe what students should know and be able to do in early elementary (grades K – 3), late elementary (grades 4 – 5), middle/junior high (grades 6-8), early high school (grades 9-10), and late high school (grades 11-12). These standards build on the Illinois Social/Emotional Development Standards of the Illinois Early Learning Standards.

These standards have been developed in accordance with Section 15(a) of Public Act 93-0495. This Act calls upon the Illinois State Board of Education to “develop and implement a plan to incorporate social and emotional development standards as part of the Illinois Learning Standards.”

The Illinois State Board of Education partners with Illinois Classrooms in Action to provide a wide variety of resources, including social emotional learning competencies organized by grade band.

Introduction  PDF Document


Goal 1  Goal 1 PDF Document

Develop self-awareness and self-management skills to achieve school and life success.

Goal 2  Goal 2 PDF Document

Use social-awareness and interpersonal skills to establish and maintain positive relationships.

Goal 3  Goal 3  PDF Document

Demonstrate decision-making skills and responsible behaviors in personal, school, and community contexts.



Printable Descriptors Grades 1-5  Printable Descriptors Grades 1-5 PDF Document

Printable Descriptors Grades 6-12  Printable Descriptors Grades 6-12 PDF Document